La Perle du Lac is one of the most wooded parks in Geneva. It is located between Parc Moynier and Parc Barton.
La Perle du Lac is one of the most wooded parks in Geneva. In particular, the area around the Museum of Science History is home to one of the city’s most stunning tulip trees as well as a cork oak with highly impressive bark. In addition to the wide variety of trees, there are numerous promenades boasting breathtaking views. The park owes its name to the wife of Rodolphe [A1] Wilsdorf (the founder of Rolex watches and former owner of two buildings in the park) who, upon discovering the idyllic view over the lake, is said to have exclaimed: “Ceci est la perle du lac!” (this is the jewel of the lake).
Two terraces offer magnificent views over the lake, city and mountains under an ever-changing sky.
In the upper reaches of the park, the terrace of the monumental fountain overlooks a large, flower-strewn lawn called “le Jardin de la Perle” sloping gently down towards the lake and the restaurant de La Perle du Lac, which also boasts a unique view of the Jet d’eau.
The terrace of the Museum of Science History is also decorated with numerous flowers as well as some remarkable scientific installations which are very popular with people enjoying a walk in the park. Every two years, during the course of a long weekend, the park hosts the “Nuit de la science”.
A summer refreshments bar is set up next to the museum while free deckchairs and film screenings are organised in July and August
Dogs are welcome to use the paths through the park as long as they are kept on a leash. For more information, you can consult the page intended for dog owners.
History of the park
A Roman villa and thermal baths discovered in 1926 bear witness to the fact that this beautiful site has been a firm favourite for at least 2,000 years.
The Villa Bartholoni, which is now home to the Museum of Science History, was built in 1825 in the Florentine style by the banker and philanthropist, François Bartholoni. Financial difficulties forced him to sell the stables and orangery to Rodolphe Wilsdorf. In 1926, Bartholoni’s heirs sold the property to the League of Nations, which also purchased Parc Moynier. Three years later, the Geneva authorities granted permission for the Palais des Nations to be built in Parc de l’Ariana in exchange for the right to use Parc Moynier and Parc de la Perle du Lac, which were opened to the public in 1929.
Parc de La Perle du Lac
Rue de Lausanne
Accessibility of the site
Article modifié le 19.01.2023 à 14:23