This page is also available in Français & Deutsch !

La montagne, laboratoire des savants

Exhibition

physical venue

The mountain, a laboratory for scientists - What attracts a scientist to the special world of the mountains? Why attempt to climb the highest peaks when you are a scientist? What measurements and experiments can be done there?
Image
Une illustration de savants du 18e siècle en pleine expédition en montagne

The exhibition explores the link, woven since the 18th century, particularly since Geneva, between the mountain and the human being, to better apprehend and understand the mechanisms that govern our world.

This taming of a hostile and dangerous world was based on observations and accounts of pioneers as early as the 17th century, but it was the Age of Enlightenment that opened the doors to the exploration of "glaciers" and high altitudes, and more particularly of the highest European summit, Mont Blanc.

The world of mountains became fashionable. Everyone was interested in collecting rocks, crystals and other curiosities, even trying to follow in the footsteps of the scholar Horace Bénédict de Saussure, sometimes forgetting his scientific purpose to focus on the sporting feat.

The measurements taken have become classics of science and have contributed to the development of explanatory models for various phenomena, from the study of mountain folding to the understanding of the physics of the atmosphere. This adventure of more than two centuries still continues today, the alpine ecosystem remaining a precious laboratory for understanding climate change.

Bilingual exhibition in French and English.

More informations

Dates and times
From 6 April 2022 to 23 April 2023
Dates details
Upcoming dates:
Thursday 9 February 2023 10:00 - 17:00
Friday 10 February 2023 10:00 - 17:00
Saturday 11 February 2023 10:00 - 17:00
Sunday 12 February 2023 10:00 - 17:00
Monday 13 February 2023 10:00 - 17:00
Wednesday 15 February 2023 10:00 - 17:00
Thursday 16 February 2023 10:00 - 17:00
Practical information
Practical information
Rates and conditions
CHF 0.-
Audiences General public

Musée d'histoire des sciences

Rue de Lausanne 128
1202 Genève
Tél. +41 22 418 50 60
Fax +41 22 418 50 61
Site web du Musée d'histoire des sciences

Voir sur le plan

Accessibility of the site

Non accessible en fauteuil roulant

Non accessible en fauteuil roulant

Toilettes non accessibles en fauteuil roulant

Toilettes non accessibles en fauteuil roulant

An event organised by Muséum de Genève
The City of Geneva is not directly responsible for all the events published in the diary. These are submitted by different sources. If you have any questions, please contact the organisers

Article modifié le 31.01.2023 à 09:45

Cette page est également disponible en English & Deutsch !

La montagne, laboratoire des savants

Exposition

sur place

La montagne, laboratoire des savants - Qu’est-ce qui attire un savant dans l’univers particulier de la montagne ? Pourquoi tenter l’ascension des plus hauts sommets lorsqu’on est scientifique ? Quelles mesures et expériences y faire ?
Image
Une illustration de savants du 18e siècle en pleine expédition en montagne

L’exposition explore le lien, tissé depuis le 18e siècle particulièrement depuis Genève, entre la montagne et l’humain, pour mieux appréhender et comprendre les mécanismes qui régissent notre monde.

Cet apprivoisement d’un monde hostile et dangereux s’est fait à partir d’observations, de récits de pionniers au 17e siècle déjà, mais c’est le Siècle des Lumières qui ouvre grandes les portes à l’exploration des « glaciaires » et de la haute altitude et plus particulièrement du sommet européen le plus élevé, le Mont-Blanc.

L’univers des montagnes devient à la mode. Chacun s’attache à collectionner roches, cristaux et autres curiosités, voire à tenter de mettre ses pas dans ceux du savant Horace Bénédict de Saussure, oubliant parfois son propos scientifique pour se centrer sur l’exploit sportif.

Les mesures effectuées s’installent comme des classiques des sciences et contribuent à proposer des modèles explicatifs de différents phénomènes, de l’étude du plissement des montagnes à la compréhension de la physique de l’atmosphère. Cette aventure vieille de plus de 2 siècles perdure aujourd’hui encore, l’écosystème alpin restant un précieux laboratoire pour appréhender les dérèglements climatiques.

Exposition bilingue français en anglais.

Plus d'informations

Dates et horaires
Du 6 avril 2022 au 23 avril 2023
Dates details
Prochaines dates:
Vendredi 3 février 2023 10h - 17h
Samedi 4 février 2023 10h - 17h
Dimanche 5 février 2023 10h - 17h
Lundi 6 février 2023 10h - 17h
Mercredi 8 février 2023 10h - 17h
Jeudi 9 février 2023 10h - 17h
Vendredi 10 février 2023 10h - 17h
Informations pratiques
Informations pratiques
Tarifs et conditions
CHF 0.-
Public(s) Tous publics

Musée d'histoire des sciences

Rue de Lausanne 128
1202 Genève
Tél. +41 22 418 50 60
Fax +41 22 418 50 61
Site web du Musée d'histoire des sciences

Voir sur le plan

Accessibilité du lieu

Non accessible en fauteuil roulant

Non accessible en fauteuil roulant

Toilettes non accessibles en fauteuil roulant

Toilettes non accessibles en fauteuil roulant

Un événement organisé par Muséum de Genève
La Ville de Genève n'est pas directement émettrice de tous les événements regroupés dans l'agenda, ceux-ci provenant de plusieurs sources. Pour toute question, merci de bien vouloir contacter les organisateurs.

Article modifié le 01.12.2022 à 11:50