This page is also available in Français !

Promenade des Bastions

Parc des Bastions

Parc des Bastions is the largest historic park in the city centre. It is also the oldest, most majestic and busiest park. It provides the backdrop to some of the most popular events in the city’s life, including the Course de l’Escalade, school fêtes, the National Day celebrations and many more which are sometimes more low-key but just as popular nevertheless. A true chameleon, the park changes its colours and activities with the seasons, offering something for everyone.

Article associé dans thèmes

Important information concerning the situation of the new coronavirus: gatherings of more than 100 people are prohibited. Furthermore, a distance of between one and two metres must be maintained between people. More information on the measures taken by the authorities

History and development

Following the plague epidemic that swept through southern France in 1720, the government of Geneva decided to develop a garden-cum-promenade at the bottom of la Treille in order to give the city’s inhabitants the chance to enjoy the fresh air while remaining confined within the fortifications. The site was called the “Belle promenade”; seeing and being seen while enjoying a stroll became a veritable pleasure. It was here, in 1817, that Augustin Pyrame de Candolle created Geneva's first true Botanical Garden.

After the decision was taken in 1849 to destroy the fortifications, the site was extended and redeveloped as a landscaped park. Home to the University of Geneva since 1872, it was here that the Reformation Wall, one of Geneva’s outstanding landmarks, was built in 1917. In 2017, the central promenade was entirely renovated, the dark tarmac being replaced by a permeable clay-limestone path giving the park a light, natural atmosphere.

An exceptional collection of trees

Some 140 trees scattered around the park carry plaques indicating their names. Boasting more than 200 different species, the park takes you on a tour of the world’s plants including Japanese maples, honey locusts, Atlas cedars, Caucasian wingnuts, Himalayan pines and European larch to name but a few. The 140 labelled trees are presented in detail in the free PARCS GENEVE app.

South-facing and protected from the north wind by the hill on which the old town is built, Parc des Bastions benefits from a highly favourable micro-climate. Its location means that rare and sometimes unique trees can be acclimatised and grown here, such as the ziziphus planted in 2017 to celebrate the 200th anniversary of Geneva’s first Botanical Garden.

Amenities

Giant chess boards
Bandstand (which has been turned into a restaurant)
Public toilets

Dogs are allowed on the paths if kept on a leash.

Ecological management

Located at the heart of a very densely built-up area, Parc des Bastions is a haven of greenery for the local population. For the indigenous flora and fauna, it is a refuge that illustrates how ecological riches and contemporary urban vitality can live together in harmony. The City’s parks and gardens are managed ecologically without any chemical products being used. Biodiversity is fostered in Parc des Bastions, in particular through nesting boxes and a patch of nettles where butterflies can reproduce.

Promenade des Bastions

Promenade des Bastions 1
1204 Genève

Voir sur le plan
Voir dans Streetview

Article modifié le 26.10.2020 à 11:56

Cette page est également disponible en English !

Promenade des Bastions

Parc des Bastions

Le parc des Bastions est le plus grand parc historique du centre-ville. Il en est aussi le plus ancien, le plus majestueux et le plus fréquenté. Il est le théâtre de manifestations parmi les plus populaires de la vie genevoise: Course de l’Escalade, Fêtes des écoles, Fête nationale et de bien d’autres parfois plus discrètes mais autant appréciées. Parc caméléon, il change de couleurs et d’activités au fil des saisons s’adaptant à tous les publics.

Article associé dans thèmes

Information importante en lien avec la situation du nouveau coronavirus: les regroupements de plus de 300 personnes sont interdits. De plus, une distance de un à deux mètres entre les personnes doit être respectée. Plus d'informations sur les mesures prises par les autorités

Histoire et aménagement

C’est suite à l’épidémie de peste qui frappe le Sud de la France en 1720 que le gouvernement genevois décide d'aménager un jardin-promenade au bas de la Treille pour permettre aux habitant-e-s de sortir tout en restant confiné-e-s dans la ville à l’intérieur des fortifications. L’endroit est nommé «Belle promenade»; voir et être vue en déambulant devient un plaisir. En 1817, Augustin Pyrame de Candolle y crée le premier véritable Jardin Botanique de Genève.

Après la destruction des fortifications décidée en 1849, le lieu est agrandi et réaménagé en parc paysager. Site de l’Université de Genève depuis 1872 il accueille depuis 1917, l’un des hauts-lieux du tourisme à Genève: le Monument international de la Réformation. En 2017, le sol de la promenade centrale est entièrement rénové, le sinistre goudron est remplacé par un sol argilocalcaire perméable, donnant au parc une atmosphère naturelle et lumineuse.

Une exceptionnelle collection d’arbres

Quelque 140 arbres du parc portent des étiquettes avec leurs noms. Riche de plus de 200 espèces différentes, le parc invite à un tour du monde végétal: érables du Japon, févier d’Amérique, cèdres de l’Atlas, pterocaryers du Caucase, pins pleureurs de l'Himalaya, mélèzes d’Europe, etc. Les 140 arbres étiquetés sont présentés en détail dans l’Application gratuite PARCS GENEVE.

Le parc des Bastions profite d’un microclimat très favorable, il est orienté Sud et protégé du vent du Nord par la colline de la Vielle-Ville. Cette situation permet d’acclimater et de cultiver des arbres rares et parfois uniques, à l’image du jujubier planté en 2017 pour célébrer le 200e anniversaire de premier Jardin botanique de Genève.

Equipements

Echiquiers géants
Kiosque à musique (devenu restaurant)
WC publics

Les chiens tenus en laisse ont accès aux chemins.

Gestion écologique

Situé au cœur d’un tissu bâti très dense, le parc des Bastions est un poumon de verdure pour la population. Pour la faune et la flore indigène, il est un refuge qui révèle que peuvent coexister richesse écologique et vitalité urbaine contemporaine. Les  espaces verts de la Ville sont gérés de façon écologique et sans produits chimiques. Au parc des Bastions, la biodiversité est favorisée notamment par des nichoirs et une zone d'orties pour la reproduction de papillons.

Promenade des Bastions

Promenade des Bastions 1
1204 Genève

Voir sur le plan
Voir dans Streetview

Article modifié le 13.07.2020 à 16:20