This page is also available in Français !

Public holidays and school holidays

The canton determines the official public holidays. Most of these holidays are religious, while some are specific to Geneva.

All the dates mentioned below are public holidays. Certain days, however, such as the Jeûne genevois and the Restoration of the Republic, only apply to the Canton of Geneva.
Image

Calendar of public holidays

Public holidays in 2021

  • New Year, Friday 1 January 2021
  • Good Friday, Friday 2 April 2021
  • Easter Monday, Monday 5 April 2021
  • Ascension, Thursday 13 May 2021
  • Whit Monday, Monday 24 May 2021
  • National day, Sunday 1 August 2021
  • Jeûne genevois, Thursday 9 September 2021
  • Christmas Day, Satturday 25 December 2021
  • Restoration of the Republic, Friday 31 December 2020

Public holidays in 2022

  • New Year, Satturday 1 January 2022
  • Good Friday, Friday 15 April 2022
  • Easter Monday, Monday 18 April 2022
  • Ascension, Thursday 26 May 2022
  • Whit Monday, Monday 6 June 2022
  • National day, Monday 1 August 2022
  • Jeûne genevois, Thursday 8 September 2022
  • Christmas Day, Sunday 25 December 2022
  • Restoration of the Republic, Satturday 31 décembre 2022

School year 2020-2021

  • Start of school: Monday 24 August 2020;
  • Jeûne genevois: Thursday 10 September 2020;
  • Autumn holidays: Monday 19 October 2020 to Friday 23 October 2020;
  • Christmas and New Year holidays: Thursday 24 December 2020 to Friday 8 January 2021;
  • February holidays: Monday 15 February 2021 to Friday 19 February 2021;
  • Easter holidays: Thursday 1 April 2021 to Friday 9 April 2021;
  • Labour Day: Saturday 1 May 2020;
  • Ascension: Thursday 13 May 2021;
  • Whit Monday: Monday 24 May 2021;
  • Summer holidays: from Monday 5 July 2021.
Notez cet article

Merci d'avoir partagé votre avis !

Article modifié le 04.03.2021 à 14:25