Public holidays and school holidays in Geneva

The canton determines the official public holidays. Most of these holidays are religious, while some are specific to Geneva.

All the dates mentioned below are public holidays. Certain days, however, such as the Jeûne genevois and the Restoration of the Republic, only apply to the Canton of Geneva.
Image

Calendar of public holidays

Public holidays in 2024

  • New Year, Monday 1 January 2024
  • Good Friday, Friday 29 march 2024
  • Easter Monday, Monday 1 April 2024
  • Ascension, Thursday 9 May 2024
  • Whit Monday, Monday 20 May 2024
  • National Day, Thursday 1 August 2024
  • Jeûne genevois, Thursday 5 September 2024
  • Christmas, Wednesday 25 December 2024
  • Restoration of the Republic: Tuesday 31 December 2024

Public holidays in 2025

  • New Year, Wednesday 1 January 2025
  • Good Friday, Friday 18 April 2025
  • Easter Monday, Monday 21 April 2025
  • Ascension, Thursday 29 May 2025
  • Whit Monday, Monday 9 June 2025
  • National Day, Friday 1 August 2025
  • Jeûne genevois, Thursday 11 September 2025
  • Christmas, Thursday 25 December 2025
  • Restoration of the Republic: Wednesday 31 December 2025

School vacations 

School vacations 2023-2024

  • Beginning of the school year: Monday 21 August 2023
  • Jeûne genevois: Thursday 7 September 2023
  • Automn holidays: from Monday 23 October 2023 to Friday 27 October 2023
  • Christmas and New Year holidays: from Monday 25 December 2023 to Friday 5 January 2024 
  • February holidays: from Monday 19 February 2024 To Friday 23 February 2024
  • Eastern holidays: from Friday 29 March 2024 to Friday 12 April 2024
  • Labor Day:  Wednesday 1 May 2024
  • Ascension extended week-end: thursday 9 May 2024 and Friday 10 May 2024
  • Whit Monday:  Monday 20 May 2024
  • Summer holidays: from Monday 1st July 2024 

School vacations 2024-2025

  • Beginning of the school year: Monday 19 August 2024
  • Jeûne genevois: Thursday 5 September 2024
  • Automn holidays: from Monday 21 October 2023 to Friday 25 October 2024
  • Christmas and New Year holidays: from Monday 23 December 2024 to Friday 3 January 2025
  • February holidays: from Monday 24  February 2024 To Friday 28 February 2025
  • Eastern holidays: from Friday 18 April 2025 to Friday 2 May 2025
  • Ascension extended week-end: Thursday 29 May 2025 and Friday 30 May 2025
  • Whit Monday:  Monday 9 June 2025
  • Summer holidays: from Monday 30 June 2025

Article modifié le 14.05.2024 à 11:21