This page is also available in Français !

Public holidays and school holidays

The canton determines the official public holidays. Most of these holidays are religious, while some are specific to Geneva.

All the dates mentioned below are public holidays. Certain days, however, such as the Jeûne genevois and the Restoration of the Republic, only apply to the Canton of Geneva.
Image

Calendar of public holidays

 

Public holidays in 2022

  • New Year, Saturday 1 January 2022
  • Good Friday, Friday 15 April 2022
  • Easter Monday, Monday 18 April 2022
  • Ascension, Thursday 26 May 2022
  • Whit Monday, Monday 6 June 2022
  • National day, Monday 1 August 2022
  • Jeûne genevois, Thursday 8 September 2022
  • Christmas Day, Sunday 25 December 2022
  • Restoration of the Republic, Saturday 31 décembre 2022

School vacations 2021-2022

  • Beginning of the school year: Monday 30 August 2021;
  • Jeûne genevois: Thursday 9 September 2021;
  • Automn holidays: from Monday 25 to  Friday 29 October 2021;
  • Christmas and New Year holidays: from Friday 24 December 2021 to Friday 7 January 2022;
  • February holidays: from Monday 14 to Friday 18 February 2022;
  • Eastern holidays: from Thursday 14 to Friday 22 April 2022;
  • Ascension: Thursday 26 May 2022;
  • Whit Monday: Monday 6 June 2022;
  • Summer holidays: from Monday 4 July 2022.

Public holidays in 2023

  • New Year, Sunday 1 January 2023
  • Good Friday, Friday 7 April 2023
  • Easter Monday, Monday 10 April 2023
  • Ascension, Thursday 18 May 2023
  • Whit Monday, Monday 29 May 2023
  • National Day, Tuesday 1 August 2023
  • Jeûne genevois, Thursday 7 September 2023
  • Christmas, Monday 25 December 2023
  • Restoration of the Republic: Sunday 31 December 2023

School vacations 2022-2023

  • Beginning of the school year: Monday 22 August 2022;
  • Jeûne genevois: Thursday 8 September 2022;
  • Automn holidays: from Monday 26 to Friday 28 October 2022;
  • Christmas and New Year holidays: from Monday 26 December 2022 to Friday 6 January 2023;
  • February holidays: from Monday 20 to Friday 24 February 2023;
  • Eastern holidays: from Friday 7 April to Friday 21 April 2023;
  • Labor Day: Monday 1 May 2023;
  • Ascension extended week-end: Thursday 18 and Friday 19 May 2023;
  • Whit Monday: Monday 29 May 2023;
  • Summer holidays: from Monday 3 July 2023.
Notez cet article

Merci d'avoir partagé votre avis !

Article modifié le 03.05.2022 à 08:59